About The Institute

Welcome to the OSHER Lifelong Learning Institute, an academic program designed for people 50 years old or better that provides non-credit courses and educational opportunities in settings conducive to learning.

Our 3 Locations:

Sonoma State University, 1801 E Cotati Ave, Rohnert Park, CA  94928
Oakmont - Santa Rosa - 6575 Oakmont Dr # 7  Santa Rosa, CA 95409 - Berger Center (Monday & Wedneday courses), and East Rec Center (Thursday courses).
Healdsburg - Villa Chanticleer, 1248 North Fitch Mountain Road  Healdsburg, CA 95448

The following is a summary of some of the program features:

  • Taught in six week sessions (Fall, Winter and Spring) at all 3 locations.
  • OLLI students can attend stimulating and intriguing courses and lecture series offered by distinguished retired faculty and other experts.
  • Areas of study range across the Arts and Humanities, the Social Sciences, and the Natural Sciences, including special topics of contemporary interest to Institute participants.
  • Courses are offered purely for the pleasure of learning--no tests or grades!


Advisory Board

Les Adler, Chair                                    
Barbara Brooks                                     
Fran Claggett                                                            
Connie Codding           
Paul and Susie Heidenreich
Jeanne Johnson
Barbara Mackenzie
Mike Marovich
Peter Rooney
Bob Santos

Budget and Finance Committee

Gale Brownell                                       
Russ Engle
Chuck Kent
Mike Marovich, Chair                          
Peter Rooney
Bob Santos
Kathy Sowers                                    

Curriculum Committee

Les Adler
Fran Claggett, Chair                             
Ginny Benson                                      
Mick Chantler
Phil Harriman                                   
Paul and Susie Heidenreich
Bob Santos

OLLI Ambassadors (SSU campus volunteers)

Berni Altman                                      
Barbara Brooks                                    
Juliana Hoewing                                            
Patricia Kavanaugh                                   
Joanne Lapinski
Barbara Mackenzie, Chair
Berkeley Malm
Ruth Waltenspiel