Sonoma State University

Mathematics Faculty

Index * Math Dept. Home Page * SSU Home Page * Email Math Dept.

Dave Ballard

Phone (707) 664-2116
Office: Darwin 138 B
Email : david.ballard@sonoma.edu

Index

Bill Barnier
Professor of Mathematics, PhD (Algebraic Topology), 1967, UCLA. He teaches many of the upper division courses as well as Higher Mathematics: An Introduction, Discrete Mathematics, and Calculus with Mathematica.

Phone (707) 664-2964
Office: Darwin 132 A
Email : bill.barnier@sonoma.edu

Julie Bonds

Phone (707) 664-2909
Office: Darwin 133 C
Email : julie.bonds@sonoma.edu

Index

-------
Sam Brannen
Associate Professor of Mathematics. Sam Brannen received his B.A. in Asian Studies from UC Berkeley in 1983. He then completed an undergraduate math major at Sonoma State University in 1989, received his M.A. in mathematics from UC Davis in 1991 and received his Ph.D. in mathematics from UC Davis in 1994. He came to Sonoma State as an Assistant Professor in 1999. His specialty is geometry, and he teaches many of the lower division geometry courses as well as various courses for math majors.

Phone (707) 664-2591
Office: Darwin 138 B
Email : brannen@sonoma.edu

Sharon Cabaniss



Phone (707) 664-3921
Office: Darwin 133 B
sharon.cabaniss@sonoma.edu

Index

Jean Bee Chan

Jean Bee Chan earned her B.S. and M.S. in Mathematics from the University of Chicago, and her Ph.D. from UCLA. Her research specialties are geometry and convexity. She enjoys teaching all SSU mathematics courses, especially the general education introductory geometry course and the upper division course in Euclidean and Non-Euclidean Geometry. Dr. Chan works hard to motivate students to reach maximum intellectual potential, and is very active in promoting scholarships for students pursuing K-12 teaching careers.

Phone (707) 664-2570
Office: Darwin 129 A
Email : jean.chan@sonoma.edu

Donald Duncan
(Emeritus)



Phone (707) 000-0000
Office: --------------
Email : donald.duncan@sonoma.edu

Index

Mary Ann Collier



Phone (707) 664-2572
Office: Darwin 17 C
Email : collier@sonoma.edu

Index

Clement Falbo
(Emeritus)

Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1963, University of Texas at Austin. He teaches Mathematical Modeling, Numerical Analysis, Operations Research, other applied mathematics courses , as well as "Studies in Modern Mathematics", a liberal arts general education course.

Phone (707) 664-2591
Office: Darwin 133 A
Email : clement.falbo@sonoma.edu

Index

Norman Feldman

Phone (707) 664-2909
Office: Darwin 133 C
Email : norm.feldman@sonoma.edu

Index

-------

Ben Ford

Associate Professor of Mathematics. Ben Ford earned his B.A. from New College in Sarasota, Florida, and his M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Oregon. He was a faculty member at the University of Washington and held a postdoctoral fellowship at Case Western Reserve University before joining the Sonoma State faculty in the fall of 1998. His research interests are in abstract algebra, specifically group representation theory. His teaching interests center on the mathematical preparation of future teachers.

Phone (707) 664-2472
Office: Darwin 133 D
Email : ben.ford@sonoma.edu

Index

Susan Herring

Professor of Mathematics, Ph.D., 1992, Claremont Graduate School. Teaches all courses in the Statistics-track of the Mathematics major, as well as GE courses in Statistics. Co-director (with Brian Jersky) of Statistical Consulting Center at SSU. Also interested in Math Education, especially elementary school curriculum. An active member of the Women In Science Project and the Expanding Your Horizons Conference.

Phone (707) 664-4118 * Office: Darwin 132 C * Email susan.herring@sonoma.edu

Index

Marybeth Hull
(Administrative Coordinator)

Phone (707) 664-2368
Office: Darwin 128
Email : marybeth.hull@sonoma.edu

Index

Brian Jersky
Department Chair

Professor of Mathematics, Ph.D., 1992, Cornell University. Teaches all courses in the Statistics-track of the Mathematics major, as well as GE courses in Statistics. Interests also in Statistical Consulting, Computer Software in Statistics, Linear Algebra, and Operations Research. Co-director (with Susan Herring) of Statistical Consulting Center at SSU

Phone (707) 664-2361
Office: Darwin 133 D
Email : brian.jersky@sonoma.edu

Index

Sara Jones


Phone (707) 664-2572
Office: Darwin 17 C
Email : jones@sonoma.edu

Index

Lakin Khan
(Administrative Assistant)

Phone (707) 664-3324
Office: Darwin 128
Email : lakin.khan@sonoma.edu

Index

-------

Izabela Kanaana
(Assistant Professor)

Izabela Kanaana received her M.A. from Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland (1997) and Ph.D. from Michigan Technological University (2003). Her research interests are mostly in combinatorial designs, but also in other parts of combinatorics and discrete mathematics.

Phone (707) 664-2271
Office: Darwin 151
Email : kanaana@sonoma.edu

Index

Brigitte Lahme
(Assistant Professor)

Personal webpage

Phone (707) 664-2238
Office: Darwin 138 C
Email : lahme@sonoma.edu

Index

Rick Luttmann

Professor of Mathematics: AB, Amherst College 1961; MS, Stanford University, 1964; Ph.D., University of Arizona, Tucson, 1966. Came to SSU in 1970 from Alaska Methodist University, Anchorage. Previously employed by General Precision Laboratory, IBM Yorktown Heights, and Lawrence Livermore Lab. On leave 1981-84: analyst for Financial Planning Associates, Anchorage; taught business and economics for Alaska Pacific University, Anchorage; created software package on financial planning for Pyramid Software, Anchorage. Doctoral dissertation in convexity theory on Steiner Symmetrization. Teaches broad spectrum of undergraduate courses in pure and applied math; created two specialized GE courses: Symmetry in the Arts and Sciences (MATH 111) and Ethnomathematics (MATH 141)

Phone (707) 664-2543
Office: Darwin 129
Email : rick.luttmann@sonoma.edu

Index

Rick Marks

Professor of Education and Mathematics, Ph.D., 1990, Stanford University. Teaches mathematics and methods courses for pre-service teachers K-12. Works extensively with teachers and schools on professional development and educational reform in mathematics. Active in local, state, and national organizations for mathematics education.

Phone (707) 664-2917
Office: Darwin 129 C
Email : rick.marks@sonoma.edu

Index

-------

Elaine McDonald

Elaine McDonald earned her BA from UC Berkeley, and her MA and PhD from UCLA. Her research interests are in probability, including interacting particle systems, coalescing random walks, and queuing theory. She was a 1999/2000 Project NExT Fellow. She enjoys teaching courses in probability, statistics, mathematical modeling, differential equations, and calculus.

Phone (707) 664-2116
Office: Darwin 138 B
Email : elaine.mcdonald@sonoma.edu

Index

-------

Edith Mendez

Associate Professor of Mathematics. Edie Mendez earned her A.B. from Mount Holyoke College, her M.A. from San Francisco State University, and her Ph.D. from Stanford University. She taught high school mathematics and served for many years as a school district trustee. Her research interests are in the history of mathematics and in mathematics education, especially in mathematical discussion. Her teaching interests center on history of mathematics and the preparation of teachers.

Phone (707) 664-4117
Office: Darwin 131
Email : edith.mendez@sonoma.edu

Index

Laurice Mogannam


Phone (707) 664-2229
Office: Darwin 17 B
Email : mogannam@sonoma.edu

Index

Jerry Morris

Personal webpage


Phone (707) 664-2199
Office: Darwin 17 A
Email : morris@sonoma.edu

Index

Thomas Nelson

Professor Emeritus. Ph.D., 1969, Oregon State University (in Corvallis, Oregon). He teaches many upper division courses, including Number Theory and Probability Theory, as well as liberal arts general education courses. He has been at SSU since 1969.

Phone (707) 664-2578
Office: Darwin 132 B
Email : tom.nelson@sonoma.edu

Index

Sandra Nieto


Phone (707) 664-2229
Office: Darwin 17 B
Email : nieto@sonoma.edu

Index

Jim Pedgrift



Phone (707) 664-2572
Office: Darwin 151
Email : pedgrift@sonoma.edu

Index

Libby Sandoval


Phone (707) 664-2572
Office: Darwin 17 C
Email : sandoval@sonoma.edu

Index

-------

Jeff Silverman



Phone (707) 664-2116
Office: Darwin 151
Email : silverman@sonoma.edu

Index

Mary Anne Sobieraj



Phone (707) 664-4117
Office: Darwin 142
Email : mary.anne.sobieraj@sonoma.edu

Index

Sunil Tiwari

Associate Professor of Mathematics. Sunil Tiwari earned his B.A. (mathematics, economics and psychology) and M.A. (mathematics) from Allahabad University, India, M.S. (mathematics) from New Mexico Tech - Socorro and his Ph.D. from Montana State University - Bozeman. He has been teaching at Sonoma State University since fall 1996. Sunil's research interest lies in the area of applied numerical analysis, ordinary and partial differential equations and mathematical modeling in biology and finance. He enjoys teaching courses in calculus sequence, differential equations, numerical analysis and mathematical modeling. Click here for his personal homepage.

Phone (707) 664-2373
Office: Darwin 130
Email : sunil.tiwari@sonoma.edu
Sunil's personal Homepage

Index

Fred Utter



Phone (707) 664-4117
Office: Darwin 142
Email : utter@sonoma.edu

Index

Steve Wilson

Steve Wilson got his BA in 1969, MA in 1970, and PhD in 1972 all at UCSB. He taught full time at the University of Texas at Austin for three years before moving to Northern California where he has taught at several colleges and universities. He has been at Sonoma State University since 1978.

Phone (707) 664-2116
Office: Darwin 151
Email : steve.wilson@sonoma.edu

Index

-------

Ai-Chu Wu



Phone (707) 664-2199
Office: Darwin 17 A
Email : aichu.wu@sonoma.edu

Index

M*A*T*H
Math Seminar



Index

Dave Ballard
Bill Barnier
Julie Bonds
Sam Brannen
Sharon Cabaniss
Jean Bee Chan
Mary Ann Collier
Donald Duncan
Clement Falbo
Norman Feldman
Susan Herring
Marybeth Hull
Brian Jersky
Sara Jones
Lakin Khan
Izabela Kanaana
Brigitte Lahme
Rick Luttmann
Rick Marks
Elaine McDonald
Edith Mendez
Laurice Mogannam
Jerry Morris
Tom Nelson
Sandra Nieto
Jim Pedgrift
Jeff Silverman
Mary Anne Sobieraj
Sunil Tiwari
Fred Utter
Steve Wilson
Ai-Chu Wu

-----------------------



Top * Math Dept. Home Page * SSU Home Page * Email Math Dept.