Course Management: Backing Up Data

Backing Up Your Course
SSU will automatically make backups of your course every week. However they only keep the past two weeks worth of backups. It is recommended that you make and keep a backup of your course, especially near the end when a great deal of student-generated content may be uploaded.

In the Administration block click "Backup". This will take you to a page where you can select which parts of your course to backup. The default is to backup everything. There are two columns of check-marks. The right-hand column is user data. The left-hand column is instructor-related data.

There are two sets of links at the top of the page that allow you to "Include" all or none of these. The right-hand links select user data. the left-hand links select all data.
At the bottom there are additional settings where you can choose whether or not to backup general files. Recommended settings will be listed in parenthesis.

  • Users: choose whether to backup all users or just the users in your course. (course)
  • Logs: records of each different user's activity throughout the course of the semester. (no)
  • User Files: any files a user uploaded as part of the course. (yes)
  • Course Files: any files you uploaded as part of the course. (yes)
  • Site Files Used in this Course: any files related to your Moodle site. (yes)
  • Grade histories: changes made in grades during the semester. (no)
  • Backup role assignments for this course: any unique changes in role. If you selected to backup "All" then theses are already checked.

Hit the "Continue" button to see a list of everything to be backed up. Moodle generates a name for the backup using the short name of the course, the date and a unique identifier. However you can change this if you wish. Hit the "Continue" button to create your backup. This loads a page that shows you what is contained in the backup. Hit the "Continue" button to see the backup file itself. By clicking on the name of the file it will download to your computer so that you can save your own copy.

Be sure to make periodic backups of your course data on a regular basis.

Restoring Data from a Backup
If you accidentally delete resources or anything else from your course you can go to the Administration block and click "Restore". This will bring up all backups you have made so far. Choose which backup you want (probably the most recent) and under the Action column choose the action "Restore". Moodle will ask if you want to restore with that file. If you click "Yes" it will take you to a page which will show you everything being restored. If you click the "Continue" button it will take you to a page where you can control the specific information to be restored.

The "Restore to" drop-down menu allows you to erase all current data and restore to the previous point, or just add the stored information to the existing course. If you are only restoring a few items click the "None" link next to Include to uncheck all items, then manually check just the files you want restored. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click "Continue". Moodle will inform you that the process may take a long time, depending on your connection to the server, the speed of the server, and the amount of data you are restoring. Click the "Restore this course now" button.

This will take you to a review page that will show you the process. When it is finished click the "Continue" button to return to the front page of your course.

Be sure to make periodic backups of your course data on a regular basis.