New Music Ensemble, Ariadne Clarinetist Join Forces on March 12

argento.pngTrio Ariadne's three-concert spring series continues on March 12 when members of the New York-based Argento Chamber Ensemble share their passion for new music in a featured performance of Brian Ferneyhough's La Chute d'Icare. Trio Ariadne clarinetist Carol McGonnell will perform the demanding solo part. The British-born Ferneyhough has been called the father of the "New Complexity "style of composition.

The Argento Chamber Ensemble's core of nine dedicated members regularly expands to perform and record chamber orchestra works utilizing up to 30 musicians. Championing cutting-edge contemporary composers and framing classical repertoire in new contexts, the Argento Chamber Ensemble has established a reputation for delivering unforgettable performances.

The concert, under the direction of composer and conductor Michel Galante, takes place at 7:30 p.m. on March 12 in Weill Hall at the Green Music Center. Admission is free, however tickets are required. To reserve seats call the University box office at (707) 664-4246. Regular parking charge of $5 will be in effect.

Trio Ariadne's next concert takes place on April 4 at 7:30 p.m. in Weill Hall.

Michel Galante - Megalomania (2012), Taka Kigawa, solo piano

Tristan Murail - Feuilles à travers les cloches (1998)
Brian Ferneyhough - La chûte D'Icare (1988), Carol McGonnell, solo clarinet

Gustav Mahler / Arnold Schoenberg - Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (1885/1920), Sharon Harms, soprano solo

Matthew Ricketts - After 9 (2012, 2014)

Arnold Schoenberg - Entrückung (1908)

Search Newscenter

Subscribe to SSU NewsCenter