Seeing an Advisor

Sociology Major Advisors for Spring 2016

Advising is done by appointment during posted office hours. Sign up for an appointment in the Sociology Department office (2084 Stevenson).  Appointments are 10 minutes long, but you may sign up for more than one during non-peak times of the semester. Drop-ins are also welcome on a space available basis. Office staff do not make appointments for faculty.

Sociology major advisors are full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty. Part-time lecturer faculty do not advise.

Advisor office hours start on the first day of class and end on the last day of class each semester. Faculty are not available for advising during the summer or winter intersessions.

Professor
Email
Phone*
Office Location
Office Hours
Noel Byrne noel.byrne@sonoma.edu 664-2517 Stevenson 2084-G Mon 4-5pm
James Dean james.dean@sonoma.edu 664-2599 Stevenson 2085 Mon 4-5pm
Wed 12-1
Brian Gillespie
Veterans Advisor
brian.gillespie@sonoma.edu 664-2583 Stevenson 2084-N Mon 2-5pm
Elaine Leeder elaine.leeder@sonoma.edu 664-2120 Stevenson 2087 On Leave
Melinda Milligan melinda.milligan@sonoma.edu 664-2254 Stevenson 2084-F Thurs 9-10am & 2-4pm
Debora Paterniti
Study Away Advisor
Social Work & Public Health Advisor
 debora.paterniti@sonoma.edu 664-3033 Stevenson 2084-I Mon 2:30-4pm
Tues 10:30am-12:00pm
Peter Phillips peter.phillips@sonoma.edu 664-2588 Stevenson 2084-A Mon 3-6pm
Cindy Stearns cindy.stearns@sonoma.edu 664-2708 Stevenson 2084-B Mon 10-11:30am
Thurs 12:10-1:40pm

* All Phone Numbers are in the (707) Area Code

Social Science Academic Peer Advisor for Spring 2016

The peer advisor, Vanessa Bascherini, can answer questions about General Education Requirements, the Academic Requirements Report (ARR), the Transfer Credit Report, course registration, and waitlists. The peer advisor cannot answer major specific questions or sign any paperwork. Email: vanessa.bascherini@sonoma.edu.

Her advising office can be found through the Dean of Social Science office at Stevenson 2078.

Office Location
Office Hours
Stevenson Hall 2070 J (within the Dean of Social Science Office)

Wed 1-4:30pm
Thurs 9-11:30am