Diversity, Structure and Function
Biology 121, Fall 2002

Required Textbook:
Campbell, Neil. 2002.Biology, Sixth Edition, Benjamin/Cummings Publishing Co., San Francisco.

 
Please Note: There may be some changes or adjustments made to this schedule.

Lecture and Laboratory Schedule

Week

Date

Lecture Topic

Laboratory Topic

Readings

Start of classes

Wed. , Aug. 28

Intro to Diversity, Structure and Function

We will start lab next week

Handouts

1

Mon., Sept. 2

LABOR DAY HOLIDAY:
NO CLASS

NO CLASS

Tues., Sept. 3

Ex. 1: Intro to Microscopes and the Vascular Plant Body;
Botanical Resources: Campus Field Trip

Wed., Sept. 4

Themes in the Study of Life
Video Powers of Ten

Ex. 1: Intro to Microscopes and the Vascular Plant Body
Botanical Resources: Campus Field Trip

Chap. 1

2

Mon, Sept. 9

Early Earth and The Origin of Life!

Systematics and the Tree of Life

Chap. 26

Tues., Sept.10

Systematics and the Tree of Life;

Wed., Sept 11

Cell Structure and Microscopes
Prokaryotes & the Origins of Metabolic Diversity

Systematics and the Tree of Life

Chap. 7, pp 108-115 and pp 123-125
Chap. 27, pp 526-539

3

Mon., Sept. 16

Quiz #1; Capturing Sunlight: Photosynthesis

Ex. 1: Intro to Microscopes and the Vascular Plant Body;
Ex. 8: Photosynthesis

Chap. 10, pp 176-193

Tues., Sept. 17

Ex. 8: Photosynthesis

Wed., Sept. 18

Origins of Eukaryotic Diversity

Ex. 8: Photosynthesis

Chap. 28

4

Mon., Sept. 23

Plants & Colonization of the Land;
Biological Diversity

FIELD TRIP to Fairfield Osborn Preserve

Chap. 29, pp 575-584

Tues., Sept. 24

FIELD TRIP to Fairfield Osborn Preserve

Wed., Sept. 25

Biological Diversity (continued);
The Algae

FIELD TRIP to Fairfield Osborn Preserve

Chap.29, pp 560-567

5

Mon., Sept. 30

Midterm Exam #1

Ex. 15: Algae
Ex. 13: Fungi;
Set up Mineral Nutrition Experiment

Chapters 1, 10, 26, 27, 28, and 29
plus Lab information

Tues., Oct. 1

Ex. 15: Algae
Ex. 13: Fungi;
Set up Mineral Nutrition Experiment

Wed., Oct. 2

"The Rotten World About Us";
Fungi & Fungal-like Protistans

Ex. 15: Algae
Ex. 13: Fungi;
Set up Mineral Nutrition Experiment

Chap. 28, pp 546-567
Chap. 31, pp 616-631

6

Mon., Oct. 7

Quiz #2; Non-Vascular Plants, the Bryophytes;
Seedless Vascular Plants

Ex. 16: Bryophytes
Ex. 17: Seedless Vascular Plants
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

Chap. 29, pp 585-594

Tues., Oct. 8

Ex. 16 Bryophytes
Ex. 17 Seedless Vascular Plants
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

Wed., Oct. 9

Evolution of Seed Plants: Gymnosperms & Angiosperms;
Plant Structure and Growth

Ex. 16 Bryophytes
Ex. 17: Seedless Vascular Plants
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

Chap. 30, pp 597-613
Chapter 35, pp 720-738

7

Mon. Oct. 14

Plant Nutrition

Ex. 30: Angiosperms;
& The Fruit Lab!
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

Chap. 37, pp 767-780;

Tues., Oct. 15

Ex. 30: Angiosperms;
& The Fruit Lab!
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

Wed., Oct. 16

Plant Reproduction and Biotechnology

Ex. 30: Angiosperms;
& The Fruit Lab!
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

Chap. 38, pp 783-799

8

Mon., Oct. 21

Plant Responses to Internal and External Signals

Lab Practical #1
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

Chap. 39, pp 806-823

Tues., Oct. 22

Lab Practical #1
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

Wed., Oct. 23

Midterm Exam #2

Lab Practical #1
Check and record data for Mineral Nutrition Experiment!

PLEASE NOTE: For the remainder of the Fall 2002 semester's schedule fo Biology 121
go to: Derek Girman's homepage Thanksgiving Holidays are Nov. 27 - Nov. 29: NO CLASSES

FINAL EXAMINATION: Comprehensive

Go to Biology 121 homepage

(Go to) Marilyn Cannon's homepage.

 
Marilyn I. Cannon, Sept. 17, 2002