SSU Symphony Orchestra Features Concerto Competition Winners

orchestraSonoma State University students Zachary Hall and Megan Rice, winners of last year's concerto competition, are featured in the SSU Symphony Orchestra's program, "A Concerted Effort," in Weill Hall at the Green Music Center, September 30, 7:30 p.m.

Hall and Rice won the University's first Concerto Competition last semester. SSU Symphony Orchestra director Alexander Kahn conducts the competition winners in two Russian works: Hall in Alexander Arutiunian's Trumpet Concerto in A-flat; and Rice in Alexander Glazunov's Saxophone Concerto in E-flat.

The program also includes a performance of Georg Philipp Telemann's "The Frogs" by the Sonoma State University Symphony Orchestra with guest violinist Aaron Westman.

The SRJC Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Jerome Fleg, performs pieces by Gabrieli, Sibelius, Beethoven (featuring Westman) and Dvorak.

General admission is $8, free to SSU students with promo code SSUStudent. Purchase tickets online at For more information call (707) 664-2324 or visit


SSU Symphony Orchestra

Telemann - Concerto in A Major, "The Frogs" TWV 51:A4

Aaron Westman, guest soloist and leader

Glazunov - Concerto for Saxophone and Strings

Megan Rice, soloist and 2016 Concerto Competition winner

Arutiunian ­- Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra

Zachary Hall, soloist and 2016 Concerto Competition winner

SRJC Symphony Orchestra

Gabrieli - Canzone per Sonare #2

Sibelius - Karelia Suite

Beethoven - Romance for Violin and Orchestra

Aaron Westman, guest soloist

Dvorak - Symphony No. 8, Movement 4

Search Newscenter

Subscribe to SSU NewsCenter